Small Steps and Overcoming

All authors go through the up and down. It’s just part of the deal. I’ve recently been in the down part of the cycle as an author. I’ve not really been writing. I’ve received back feedback on my first book, but haven’t been incorporating those changes in though I am anxious to finish the book after nine years. There’s no simple reason why. Sometimes being a writer is draining and you need to step away I guess. I don’t know. I managed to write 500 words yesterday for the first time in quite a while. Finding anything that can keep you going is key.

Obviously, I blew through my goal of finishing version one of my second book by April 6th. My new target is May 15 if I can keep writing.

I will try to start editing my first book today. My hope is to have it done by the same May 15 deadline. Is that realistic? No idea. We’ll see, I guess.

Sometimes it sucks to be a writer. You feel like a failure some days and its hard to push on. Still, if you believe in your story, you should push on. Just a little bit each day will add up. That’s all I’m trying to do at this point. Not focused on the big goals, just small steps.

Just a guy who is interested in everything

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in The Writing Game

Leave a Reply

