Lots of Work, But no Progress

I’ve been busy doing lots of things, but nothing related to writing unfortunately. My visit to see my parents in Chicago is partly to blame but I own most of this. I haven’t felt motivated to write. Not sure why. I continue to work on my author analytics app ‘Inscriba’ but even that didn’t see a lot of work.

I need to get back on the horse so to speak. Here’s my pledge. I will try to target writing five hundred words each day starting tomorrow. Once I get back in the rhythm I will increase to 1,000 words per day. I would like to target more, but I don’t think it is realistic. As a reminder, I am writing my book ‘The Boys of Brighton Beach’. Additionally, I am getting feedback on my first book ‘hero’ by April 6 from my Meetup group. Because I fell off the wagon so to speak, I will have to double up on my work.

Originally, I had planned to stop any writing while I was incorporating feedback into ‘hero’ but because I have fallen behind my schedule, I will have to keep writing while editing the first book. Not ideal as any writer will tell you. I am nervous to see how much rewriting I will have to do. That will also play a role in what’s possible.

In the meantime, small steps as I try to regain some momentum. Nobody said it would be easy. Maybe this is why so many people quit? It helps me to break large segments into smaller, less intimidating pieces of work. Try it. It might help you.

If you want to be a writer, write every day 🙂

Just a guy who is interested in everything

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in The Writing Game

Leave a Reply

